2015 Sage Award Recipient

The Barbara Burnett Smith Mentoring Authors Foundation is pleased to announce Jan Grape as the recipient of the 2015 Sage Award. The Sage Award is given to a mentor-author who demonstrates an outstanding spirit of service in mentoring, sharing and leading others in the mystery writing community. Jan Grape will be honored by the Sisters in Crime: Heart of Texas chapter at the May 17 Barbara Burnett Smith Aspiring Writers event at 2:15 p.m. at the Yarborough branch of the Austin Public Library.

Anthony and Macavity Award-winner Jan Grape’s first mystery novel Austin City Blue was nominated for best first novel Bouchercon 2002. Dark Blue Death is the second in her Zoe Barrow mystery series set in Austin about a female police officer. Found Dead in Texas is Jan’s first short story collection. She wrote a stand-alone called What Doesn’t Kill You.

Past Sage Award winners include David Ciambrone, Micqui Miller, Sylvia Dickey Smith, Joan Upton Hall, and Russ Hall.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: